Friday, July 31, 2009

Snap caught on film

Filming has completed on a short horror film I co-penned with fellow screenwriter Cameron Oliver called Snap.

The film - which is a play on the Hostel and Saw torture films - tells the story of a man who awakes bound in a dark room and is tortured by an inflatable penguin.

It was shot in one day as part of the 2009 15-15 Film Festival. Originally written as a comedy, a great acting performance and some powerful cinematography from Mark Morris has seen it hold its own in the horror genre.

The film was directed by Cameron.

I’m usually fairly critical of our short films, but I’m really proud of the way this story transferred to the screen.

Look out for it in coming months as part of the 15-15 Festival screenings.

Thursday, July 09, 2009

Chronos award nomination

In a bizzare twist I have somehow managed to be shortlisted as the only finalist for Best Fan Writer in Continuum's innagural Chronos Awards.

Why I have been singled out among such other great reviewers, news, fan writers is a bit of a mystery but I thank those who felt me worthy of their vote.

To be shortlisted for both this and a Ditmar in the same year is a great honour and with a bit of luck (given that I'm the only finalist) I may get to accept a nice shiny award at Continuum 5 in Melbourne next month.

I have noticed on the ballot that there is the option for no award, so hopefully enough convention goers see it in their hearts to select me above the option of not handing out an award.

Here's the full list of nominees:

Best Short Fiction
"Neverland Blues", Adam Browne (Dreaming Again)
"They Live Under the House", Felicity Dowker (Midnight Echo #1)
"Her Collection of Intimacy", Paul Haines (Black: Australian Dark Culture Magazine #2)
"Painlessness", Kirstyn McDermott (Greatest Uncommon Denominator #2)
"Dress Circle", Miranda Siemienowicz (Hecate Vol 34, #1)

Best Collected Work
Dreaming Again, editor Jack Dann (Harper Voyager)
Midnight Echo #1, editors Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond (AHWA)

Best Fan Writer
Mark Smith-Briggs (HorrorScope)
Best Fan Artist
Carol Kewley (Ethel The Aardvark cover art)
Dick Jenssen (Interstellar Ramjet Scoop)

Best Fan Publication
Ethel The Aardvark, editor Murray MacLachlan (Melbourne Science Fiction Club)
Interstellar Ramjet Scoop, editor Bill Wright
Steam Engine Time, editors Bruce Gillespie & Janine Stinson